Welcome Guest... Login?

« BACK General Discussion Forum

BB

Garage Boat Lift????

Has anybody ever thought about using a lift like the attached or know of anybody who uses something like this to get their boat up and out of the way for a little more storage? Just curious on people’s thoughts about how feasible it really would be. (by the way this is my first time posting a link so I hope it works out)

Mohawk lifts

http://www.mohawklifts.com/consumer/usl6000.php

BIRDDOG

Re: Garage Boat Lift????

Not much extra storage space, looks like the lift takes up a fair amount of space itself. Stick a bunch of stuff under and around the boat, when it comes time to use it you'd have to "unpack" everything, move it around to get the boat out. Then when it comes time to move the boat back in have to move everything again...vicious cycle. I think investing in a car port would be cheaper, you can buy the sides for them as well. That or storage near by.

I don't see the lift being feasible.

I think if I needed extra storage on site I would go with one of these type otions.

carport

carport

carport

BIRDDOG

--------------------
FOR BETTER OR WORSE, FISHING AND HUNTING COME FIRST

Edited by BIRDDOG (04/28/08 01:59 PM)

BB

I see what you are saying, but I was thinking for more long term storage such as winter storage vs. during the summer when I would be using the boat. I am not worried about the summer months. I am just trying to get as much out of my garage as possible, trying not to have to put the boat in off-site storage over the winter.

Matt Grow